2012 Australasian Conference on Innovative Technologies in Construction: “From BIM to Beyond”

‘From Building Information Modeling to Beyond’

Curtin University (Australia) in conjunction with Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China) has established the ‘Australasian BIM Research Centre’ and will hold its inaugural joint conference in Wuhan (China) on 2nd and 3rd December 2012. The theme of the conference is: “From BIM to Beyond”. The conference aims to examine current and future issues with Building Information Modeling, particularly the integration of technologies such as Augmented Reality, sensing and tracking (e.g., RFID and GPS) during construction and operation/maintenance. Conference topics relating to the applications of BIM include:


All papers will be double-blind peer reviewed. Selected papers will be considered for publication in a special issue of an SCI(E) journal which is currently being organized by the conference co-chairs. An award will be presented to the paper that challenges current-state-of-the-art thinking.

Conference Chairman

Professor Lieyun Ding, Huazhong University of Science and Technology and
Northeastern University,

Conference Co-Chairs

John Curtin Distinguished Professor, Peter ED Love, Curtin University,
Professor Xiangyu Wang, Curtin University, Co-Director, Australasian BIM Research Centre
Professor Hanbin Luo, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Co-Director, Australasian BIM Research Centre

Conference Secretariat

Dr Ying Zhou, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

Local Organizing Committee

Professor Ai Lin (Evelyn) Teo, National University of Singapore,
Professor Heng Li, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Professor Shih-Chung Kang, National Taiwan University
Professor Chansik Park, Chung An University
Professor Nobuyoshi Yabuki, Osaka University
Dr. Mi Jeong Kim, Kyung Hee University
Dr. Chun-pong Sing, Curtin University
A/Professor Ping Yung, Curtin University

Keynote Speakers

Professor Shang-Hsien Hsieh, National Taiwan University
Professor David J. Edwards, Birmingham City University
Professor Rafael Sacks, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Professor Lieyun Ding, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Scientific Technical Committee

Professor Peter Davis, Curtin University
Professor Yoram Reich, Tel Aviv University
Professor, Youngsoo Jung, Myungji University
Professor, Soonwook Kwon, Sung Kyun Kwan University
Professor, Ghang Lee, Younsei University
Professor Jin Kook Lee, Hanyang University
Professor Inhan Kim, Korea Kyung Hee University
Professor Leen-Seok Kang, Gyeongsang National University
Professor Shizhao Ding, Tongji University
Professor Qiming Li, Southeast University
Professor Dongping Fang, Tsinghua University
Professor Hongping Zhu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Professor Robert Amor, University of Auckland
Professor Luis F. Alarcon, Universidad Católica de Chile
Professor Chiu-Shui Chan, Iowa State University
Dr. Tomohiro Fukuda, Osaka University
Professor Shiro Matsushima, Toyohashi University of Technology

Professor Chui-Te Chiu, Chung Hua University
Professor Robert Klinc, University of Ljubljana
Professor Nashwan Dawood, Teesside University
Professor Carrie Sturts Dossick, University of Washington
Professor Nuria Forcada, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Dr. Guillermo Aranda-Mena, RMIT
Professor Didibhuku Thwala, University of Johannesburg
Dr. Ning Gu, University of Newcastle
Dr. Sangwon Han, University of New South Wales
Dr. Cynthia Wang, University of New South Wales
Dr. David Heesom, University of Wolverhampton
Professor Zahir Irani, Brunel University
Professor Rivka Oxman, Technion Haifa
Professor Jim Smith, Bond University
Chris Allen, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Professor Hyungkwan Kim, Yonsei University
Professor Rahinah Ibrahhim Universiti Putra Malaysia
Dr. B Harimurti W Hadikusumo, Asian Institute Technology

Venue and Hotel Accommodation

Specific details about the conference will be made available shortly via the Conference

Important Dates

2012/08/01 Submission of paper for review

2012/09/01 Notification of acceptance

2012/09/10 Symposium registration opens

2012/10/22 Final paper submission for publication

2012/12/01 Registration in Wuhan (Cocktail reception)

2012/12/02 Conference DAY 1

2012/12/03 Conference DAY 2 (Conference Banquet)

2012/12/04 – Tour(s) – Optional

Secretariat Dr Ying Zhou at: ying_zhou@mail.hust.edu.cn